support group meeting requirement

loriw
on 7/16/08 10:07 pm - Oley, PA
Hi all,

I have jumped thru all the hoops my insurance company has asked and was awaiting approval.  Now they want me to attend 2 support group meetings prior to approval.  My problem is this - I am a school teacher and was hoping to have the surgery completed before school starts in less than 6 weeks.  (I've been working toward surgery for 4 months).  Anyway, a gal in the insurance dept at Barix suggested I look into telephone or online support group meetings.  Has anyone ever heard of either of these and if an insurance company would accept them?  Any suggestions or info is HUGELY appreciated.

Lori
Liz R.
on 7/16/08 10:13 pm - Easton, PA
Lori - I run a support Group at Doylestown Hospital (tonight at 6pm conference room A) actually and have written many letters for insurance companies. I don't believe that any of them have ever questioned the "type" of support group, you just have to have someone stating that you are participating in them actively.

Best of Luck with your journey!

Liz
Cheryl S.
on 7/16/08 10:22 pm - Millsboro, DE
Hi Lori,

There's another support group this weekend (Saturday) in Harleysville, PA at Heather Ward's house.  It's a great group.  Let me know if you want to attend and I can send you information.

Cheryl
loriw
on 7/16/08 10:24 pm - Oley, PA
YES, YES, YES I am definitely interested in the weekend meeting.  Please send me more info, etc.   and thank you!
Liz R.
on 7/16/08 10:28 pm - Easton, PA
The next support group meeting is at my house this Saturday at 1pm. Please bring water, drink mixes, WLS snack if you wish. Also, please bring a chair, if weather permits, we will meet outside.