WEGEMEN SUGGESTIONS

jdruski
on 6/25/08 3:39 am, edited 6/25/08 4:32 am - Philadelphia, PA
I was wondering if anyone can give me some healthy snack ideas.  I am making a trip to Wegeman's on Saturday and I understand they have a great healthy food aisle (along with a zillion not so healthy aisles.).  I already have the Wasabi Edamame on the list.   Thanks. Jeanne
sbrunell
on 6/25/08 5:25 am - Bensalem, PA
i  am wondering if you are talking about Wegman's supermarkets (wegmans.com). They have a few good items that we have been buying, but many of them are sold at Giant as well. Wegman's charges a lot.  I would stay away from the meat and seafood. It's really the same as everyone else's, but normally at a higher price.  I sell meat and seafood for a living.  Their seafood is WAY overpriced. We bought pork chops there because the packaging was different. They have them all vaccum packed, so they would store well in the hell that is my freezer. they have a "healthy" snack area in both Wegmans and Giant, where I buysome faux Cheese doodles w/ 3 g Sugar per serving. Most of it is from the lactose in the cheese itself. I have started shopping at Big Lots and they had Soya Crisps and stuff like that for $1! You might want to try there. There is one at Franklin Mills.
Steve Brunell
RNY  5/16/08
The first day of the rest of my life
Dr. Pupkova

jdruski
on 6/25/08 5:41 am - Philadelphia, PA

Thanks, Steve.  I know they are pricey.  I was only looking for some healthy snacks.  Someone told me about the Wasabi Edamame and being as I like both I would love to see what they taste like together.  I live in Phillie so I usually only have the regular supermarkets to go to.  I live so close to NJ that I thought I would combine a few errands while I am over there.  Besides the gas is really cheap. I will have to venture up 95 to Big Lots.  Thanks again for the suggestion. Jeanne

sbrunell
on 6/25/08 5:45 am - Bensalem, PA