Ab Pain

(deactivated member)
on 9/20/18 4:44 pm - Windsor, Canada
VSG on 08/27/18

I was three weeks post-op on Monday. Overall, I feel good. I am getting my protein, vitamins and water in. I sometimes eat a bit too much, but just to the point of a little discomfort, not pain. I'm still learning how much my sleeve can handle.

I started back to work on Monday. I couldn't afford to stay off any longer than that, and I work for a small company so they really need me. They are good to me, and do all the fetching I need. I left a bit early on Tuesday because my back was aching. However, my stomach pain has been getting worse. I woke up this morning and knew I couldn't go in.

The pain I'm feeling is in my abs. I have had it on and off since I got home. Originally, it was in my lower left belly, but lately it's moved to the area around and slightly above my belly button. It aches a bit if I stand for too little long, but I only experience intense pain when I am trying to stand up and sometimes when I am trying to sit down.

The pain gets really intense, but lasts only 10-20 seconds, then starts loosening up. It really feels like just muscle pain, but I just want it to stop. It's really only bad when getting out of my recliner (a problem because that's where I sleep) and to a slightly lesser extent with the toilet (also a necessity). My desk chair at home is absolutely fine. Work chair is occasionally challenging but bearable.

I actually have a really strong pain tolerance, but this burning pain is starting to get me down. Pain killers just make me dizzy. The only thing that's helped has been icing the area until it's numb, but icing it constantly isn't a good idea.

Some have suggested calling the centre (my follow up isn't for another week), but it just doesn't feel like it's urgent ... Just the muscles needing to heal. Like I said, I'm really not worried, just need reassurance that it will eventually get better.

Am I being stupid, or a whiny baby?

laisheavenbound