Seeking WLS

KWlightweight
on 8/13/14 12:00 am - Canada

Hi there, Im new to this page and WLS in general. I had my orientation with the Guelph Bariatric Center in June, and am waiting to have my first Nurses appointment in a few weeks. I am 5'3, 213lbs and a BMI of 37. Im really worried that I will be "too small" to be approved for OHIP covered surgery. I have some comorbidities, but Im not sure if their "serious enough".I have PCOS/Infertility (Husband and I went through fertility treatments, and was repetadly told to "just lose the weight", treatment lead to no pregnancies, doc wanted to do IUI or IVF and we cant afford either), Hypothyroidsim that is controlled through medications and "Pre-Diebetic"/Insulin Resistence. I have tried countless "weight loss regimes" from Personal Trainers, to Weigh****chers, to Shakes and other "fad diets", I am desperate to be healthy and start a family!

Is there anyone out there with a similar story to mine that was approved for surgery?

Karen M.
on 8/13/14 1:25 am - Mississauga, Canada

Just wanted to say welcome! I think you are going to have to wait and see what they say about your weight and co-morbidities as everyones cir****tances and bodies are different. You are definitely a light weight - I sure do understand wanting to start a family, I really hope you qualify to increase your odds of this happening for you and your husband.

Karen

Karen

Ontario Recipes Forum - http://www.obesityhelp.com/group/ontario_recipes/

DeeMishka
on 8/13/14 4:03 am
RNY on 08/08/14

I too have pcos and when I first started my paperwork at the orientation they had pcos listed as a comorbidity but when I attended my nurse and dietician appointment they told me it is not considered one that would be used on basing approval of surgery; however, because you are insulin resistant that might be helpful and enough to get you approval. But every case is different.

NorthernStar
on 8/13/14 4:39 am - London, Canada
RNY on 06/25/12