Anyone at HRRH?

LynTO
on 6/25/14 2:56 am - Canada

Hi,

My name is Lyn and I am just beginning the process and was wondering if anyone could kindly answer the following questions for me:

1. If I have received the information session date does that mean that I am approved to have the surgery (I have no other major medical issues)?

2. If I should lose weight before surgery and I drop below the BMI range for OHIP coverage will they cancel the surgery?

3. Can anyone tell me what the current wait time for HRRH is?  And how long it takes to have the other appointments booked after the information session?

I apologize as I know these questions are most frequently asked. I will greatly appreciate any guidance with regards to this process.

Thanks,

Lyn

jaxie77
on 6/25/14 7:21 am - Canada
RNY on 12/16/14

Hey Lynn , 

Welcome to the board :) 

I am a ways through the process and am at HRRH . So, first off , the info seesion is just that . It's a session where you and around 20/30 others will gather and be given all the information you need on Bariatric surgery so that you can make an informed decision on wether or not to proceed . You will be asked at the end of this session to sign and indicate if you are still willing to go ahead or not . 

The next step will be a meeting with your surgeon . He will go over all your medical history and i think he decides at this point if he thinks you are a candidate or not . For your BMI question im not sure about that. I think if you are over a bmi of 35 or so then I'd say you would qualify at this point . If you lose weight on the journey before surgery , im not sure how that goes if you go under 35 . ( I could be totally wrong here , but im sure someone will correct me ;)  ! )