Introduce myself

viper27
on 5/20/14 11:48 pm - Canada

Hi All - Just came across this site today, and am finding your insights incredible.  I have been working through the UHN bariatric program since June of 2013, and meet with Dr. Aarts on Friday (hopefully for a surgery date!).  I am looking to get any advice you may have on questions I should ask, etc.  I have seen mention of VSG (I assume this is sleeve), but my understanding is only RNY is covered in Ontario.  I am comfortable with the decision to go forward with RNY, just want all the facts if there is any other options available.

Existing conditions:  Diabetes (insullin dependent right now), Sleep Apnea.  I do have some aches and pains, but nothing that really stops me from doing anything.

Any comments are welcome, from protein powders that have worked well, as well as ones to avoid.  Vitamins have also confused me, so anything you can help with there is appreciated.

on 5/21/14 2:08 am - Canada

Hi Viper im from Elliot Lake On.  I had RNY surgery on April 22nd so im just 4 weeks post op.  I feel great.  I had my surgery at St Josephs in Toronto.  My surgeon was Dr. David Lindsay.  I was on Optifast for 4 weeks prior to my surgery.  I use SISU non flavored whey isolate protein powder.  I also use fat free powdered milk I put it in almost everything.  I eat sugar free popcicles they are nice every once in a while.  There is so much good info on this site im sure you will have no problem finding assistance.  Any questions you have just ask we are all here for you.  I was 319lbs when I started and im down to 258lbs.  Im so glad I did this.  :-)  Val

Linsie
on 5/21/14 8:19 am - Kitchener, Canada
RNY on 05/22/14