What are you eating/doing today (Wednesday)

Patm
on 4/30/14 12:33 am - Ontario, Canada
RNY on 01/20/12

Wow I think that scares me even more. You are an exercising machine. At my age I could never keep up with you. If you are eating 1200 than sounds like I will be lucky to be able to eat 1000. I have already put the 10 on. If I stick to 1200 or less and no alcohol I am slowly losing it. But I hear year three is harder so I guess I will see how I do. 

kellybelly333
on 4/30/14 1:51 am - Toronto, Canada

I don't mean to scare you at all. Sorry about that! But yep, it is much harder this year. I can eat more than I could a year ago. The only time I really account for my exercise with added calories, is when I go over two hours of exercise. I gained 5 pounds from my lowest when I started training for my marathon, and I guess that's because I ate like a marathoner, not like an RNYer. I'm two pounds above goal, and 10 pounds above my lowest. Hoping I don't move from here. 

Something I heard once is that in our 50's and 60's we put on weight to get ready for our 70's plus, as we start losing bits of weight past that age. So maybe way down the road we won't have to worry so much? Also, I have talked to a few vets not on OH who have found after 4 + year that they got into a groove and acceptance of where they ended up. They still watch how they gain and such, but are more relaxed about it. We worry so much because we get to a fabulous number (too low for some) and then the scale moves back up after malabsorption finishes. For those who didn't really watch and change their lives in the beginning find it the hardest because it's more than 10 pounds that is regained by year three. Some even sooner. You are in tune with your body, but know that things change all the time.