Post WLS Skills Group

DrLindsey
on 9/7/09 9:01 am - Las Vegas, NV

Hi Everyone,

It's nice to see a little more action on the NV board!

I wanted to let you know that I will be starting a 10 week structured group designed to promote WLS success and overall quality of life. We are shooting for a start date of September 24th. As some of you know, I am a licensed clinical psychologist and have been doing research and clinical work with WLS clients for the past 10 years. All to often I've noticed that folks have surgery and are kind of left to fend for themselves and navigated the post op world. This group is designed to teach and practice research proven weight management and related skills specifically for thosee who have had weight loss surgery. This is quite different from a support group in that we have a set agenda each week, each member commits to being there for the full 10 weeks, and it is led by a psychologist and doctoral level psychology student - AND there is support from other patients and professionals.

Here are the goals of the group:

Goals of Group

Each member will be able to:

• Progress towards personal weight loss goals
  • Decrease emotional, compulsive and/or binge eating
  • Establish habit of regular, balanced and flexible eating
  • Enjoy eating without feeling anxious or guilty
  • Be able to better manage emotions
  • Enhance support systems and relationship quality
  • Improve body image and self-esteem
  • Manage stress more effectively
  • Increase overall quality of life

The group will only be open to 10 individuals. For more questions please feel free to reply to the post, or call my office.

Hope everyone is doing well,

Lindsey Ricciardi