Looking for Online Support

LaToya W.
on 9/10/04 11:28 pm - Conyers, GA
Hi my name is LaToya Watson. I have been considering the the sugery for several years have been approved got to scheduling and cancelled. I finally have decided I am going to have the surgery. I am approved and I have a surgery schedule date of September 21st. The date is getting closer and I am becoming more and more nervous. I just recently moved to Conyers and don't have any family here just a few friends. If any one would like to email me talk to me and give me some type of support or positive feedback. Most of my friends are very negative about the surgery and are telling me not to do it. My email address is [email protected]
freespirit
on 9/11/04 5:04 am - Hawkinsville, GA
Welcome LaTonya! You have come to the right place for support. I'm still pre-op, my surgery is scheduled for October 13. I know there are actual support groups that meet in your area but I don't know the details of any of them. Glad to have you join us! Robin
LaToya W.
on 9/11/04 5:19 am - Conyers, GA
Thank you, where is Hawkinsville? I have been to a couple of meetings in my area. The group that I have attended meets every 1st thursday at Rockdale Hospital.
Ms.Judy
on 9/11/04 9:21 am - HOSCHTON, GA
Okay Latoya , You've got my support and everybody else on this message board and all the other message boards !!! I was so afraid to have this surgery , but after reading the message boards and getting to know all this people I had the surgery !! I have not been sorry for one minute . I had surgery on March 31, 2004 and I've lost 77 pounds and I was wearing a size 22/ 24 and now I wear a size 14 !!! I've got 27 more pounds to my goal weight and I feel great . I was taking 14 pills and 2 to 5 insulin shots a day before the surgery and now I take a thyroid pill and an antidepressant. That's all, 2 pills a day. Just get on this board when you're feeling down and we'll lift your spirts. Judy
Denise M.