VBG Band Migration, 75% in stomach,25% into gastric cavity

Beverly R.
on 1/17/04 9:53 pm - Moultrie, Ga
Hi, I am Bev, 48yr old fe, Georgia. I had VBG in 87. Lost 110 pounds in 8 mos. In 88 had two pills obstruct pouch which caused surgery to be ineffective. I am a Nurse, on Disability since 97 due to SLE,Fibro,CFS, and now have Gastroparesis. As the title relfects I now have the complication of Band Migration thru the stomach wall and into the gastric cavity. I saw a great Gastro Doc at Shands. He said the Band has to come out and a referral has been made to a Surgeon at Shands hospital in Gainesville Fla. The Surgeon is Dr. Route. I am waiting on an appt. I feel that this will require an open abdominal surgery to correct. If they are going to operate on me anyway I wish to have the VBG be functional again. I have adhesions from previous abdominal surgery, including a Gallballder removal, Hysterectomy and Intrabominal Bleeding. I am interested in talking to anyone who had heard of this complication with band migration, knows of anyone who had it and what their experiences were. I would be estatic to learn that it could be repaired laparoscopically. I am interested in talking to any of you here and look forward to being a part of this group. Warm Regards and Well Wishes to all, Bev R. Moultrie,Ga.
PEGGY B.
on 1/18/04 10:14 am - SYLVA, NC