Newbie Possibly traveling for DS to Dr. Houston in Nashville

Imissthe80s
on 6/28/11 6:21 am - Louisville, KY
DS on 02/27/12
Hello, Georgia OHers! I am a newbie and have only been researching WLS, particularly the DS, for a few weeks now, but I feel I have learned a lot already, and am especially thankful to OH for all of the knowledgeable folks on these boards.  If everything works out with insurance and if Dr. Houston accepts me under his DS wing, which I'm worried about at this point because I'm a light weight with a BMI of 41.

Now to my question for the traveling patients of Dr. Houston, are there any tips you wish you'd known about early in the process that you could offer a newbie like me?

Ann M.
on 6/29/11 1:30 pm - GA
For general questions on Dr. Houston and the DS you may also want to post on the Tennessee board and the DS board. In terms of travel, I live in Atlanta so the drive is 4.5 hours. It's not bad really and there are two nicer hotels that offer the Centennial rate so I usually drive up and stay over night and head back the next day. I try to get the earliest appointment I can so I can boogie back home.

As far as being a lightweight I can't speak to that but I can tell you that you must be well-educated on the DS before he will even consider it. I imagine being well versed on the surgery can only help you. Have you had an appointment yet? His office staff rocks so at least you will have that in your favor.

-Band to DS revision on 06/21/2011!
Highest known Wt/ Lowest Wt (Banded)/ Regain-Starting Wt/ Current Wt/ Goal Wt
379.6/ 272/ 342/ 169/ South of 200

Imissthe80s
on 6/30/11 12:14 am - Louisville, KY
DS on 02/27/12