Just starting this, anybody know good dieticians?

rtptjd
on 9/21/10 2:54 am, edited 9/21/10 3:31 am - Atlanta, GA
Hello all, I am just getting started on this journey!  I have had one visit with a surgeon and am in the process of setting up a second opinion.  Of course, my insurance company's requirements must be met either way.  I'm trying to find a dietician in the Atlanta/Decatur area to meet with.  I've called my first doc's recommended providers but no one seems to want to return a phone call.  So, any suggestions?  Feel free to give me input on your surgeons, as well.  I have spoken with Dr. Paul Macik and like him, but I have an appointment to check out Emory too.  Thanks for any info you can give!
Paul C.
on 9/21/10 5:47 am - Cumming, GA
Dr. Macik is one of the Surgeons at Emory Johns Creek.  Any doctor or hospital that carries the, Bariatric Surgery Center of Excellence by the American Society for Metabolic & Bariatric Surgery (ASMBS), rating is going to be a good surgeon or hospital.
Paul C.
First 5K 9/27/20 46:32 - 11 weeks post op  (PR 28:55 8/15/11)
First 10K 7/04/2011 1:03      
      First 15K 9/18/2011 1:37
First Half Marathon 10/02/2011 2:27:44 (
PR 2:24:35)   
First Half Ironman 9/30/12 7:32:04
rtptjd
on 9/21/10 6:14 am - Atlanta, GA
Thanks for your  reply!  I liked Dr. Macik immediately when I met him.  I'm closer to Northside and would probably have surgery done at that facility rather than Johns Creek.  Right now I'm just trying to find a dietician to get that pre-requisite out of the way.  Thanks again.
aseg21
on 9/21/10 11:27 pm - Miami, FL
I personally didn't have a great experience at Northside. I've heard other people's Johns Creek experiences and wish I'd gone there instead... Either way, I'd say pick the best surgeon not let the facility be a factor.
LynetteT
on 9/21/10 11:36 am - Gwinnett County, GA
www.rachelrd.com