RNY vs Switch

GA_Peach
on 9/7/10 11:47 am - Dallas, GA
Hello everyone!  I am a newbie to the whole process.  I just have been accepted to the Dr's program and had my first consult on Friday (9/3) and have my list of evaluations needed that i have started scheduling.  I was orignally interested in the sleeve, but as i dig into my medical policy it looks like they consider the sleeve (as a single procedure) is still considered experimental.

I would love some feedback regarding the RNY vs the Switch to know which way was preferred and why. 

Look forward to hearing from everyone!  : )
Paul C.
on 9/8/10 3:54 am - Cumming, GA
Before you really get into which people prefer I would suggest you really research what each procedure is and what the pros and cons are.  You will come to learn that on here (mainly the WLS General board) people are very steadfast in their opinions and which procedure is best, as opposed to best for an individual.  Do your research on sites that are independent of a specific procedure such as wiki for a start, as some sites do nothing but talk about the good things.

We each have our reasons for why we chose what we did, whether it be insurance, best results, or lack of knowledge.  Base your decisions on everything you learn and what you need/want out of it. 

Your doctor can help guide you to what is the best for your case.  Attend support meetings in your area and talk to people face to face, my experience is that meeting people face to face you get a better feel for why people have really made the choice they did along with how effective it is. 

Remember both the RNY and DS have a malabsorbtion factor with one being more extreme.  One you get the added bonus of dumping if you stray to far into the bad foods (I think of it as aversion therapy).

Once you have an independent idea of what each does then you will be in a better place to listen and gauge what people say.
Paul C.
First 5K 9/27/20 46:32 - 11 weeks post op  (PR 28:55 8/15/11)