No Clue

AudraJennings
on 8/30/10 11:46 am - Canton, GA

Hi All,

I am new to the board and just beginning my journey with WLS.  I am trying to get real life experiences with recovery time after RNY (Lap) and LAP Band.  Basically, I am trying to start preparation for my employer and employees and am looking for a realistic look at how long it will be from point of surgery to going back to work.  FYI- my job is not physically strenuous at all.  The hardest part will be the 30 minute drive to and from.  Any advise or input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Audra

Paul C.
on 8/30/10 12:19 pm - Cumming, GA

I had my RNY on a friday and took the following week off from work.  I am a software engineer and sit most of the day.  I would get up frequently to walk and just move around.  I had my wife drive me my first week back which is about 40 minutes with traffic, because I was still using pain meds at bed time.

I know with my job this is something I had spoken with my managers about following my first appointment.  I kept them notified on my progress through the process and we had a good transition of my duties leading up to my surgery.  THey were and continue to be understanding and supporitive of my progress.

What has you trying to decide between an RNY or Band?  have you met with Dr. Macik already?

Paul C.
First 5K 9/27/20 46:32 - 11 weeks post op  (PR 28:55 8/15/11)
First 10K 7/04/2011 1:03      
      First 15K 9/18/2011 1:37
First Half Marathon 10/02/2011 2:27:44 (
PR 2:24:35)   
First Half Ironman 9/30/12 7:32:04
AudraJennings
on 8/30/10 10:58 pm - Canton, GA
Hi Paul,