shbp Cigna or UHC???

nilesmama08
on 7/22/10 3:49 am, edited 7/22/10 5:47 am - Atlanta , GA

Hello everyone,

So sorry for all of the one million questions. I am trying to do everything possible to begin my WLS journey.  I want to know which shbp insurance is WLS friendly. I have decided to go with Dr. Macik for VSG. Can anyone help me decide the best insurance plan? Thanks

Stephanie

curiouscat7
on 7/22/10 5:23 am

Congrats on great choice of Doc......as far as insurance I had UHC and it was good...but I would review each plan very carefully before choosing...

Is this the school system's ins? If  so there are lots of teachers on here that can help...

Good Luck

CC
View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com
nilesmama08
on 7/22/10 5:46 am - Atlanta , GA
Thanks CuriousCat,

I am a teacher in GA. I currently have UHC HMO (don't qualify for WLS)  so it would be nice to keep UHC.  I heard great things about Cigna too. I am looking for easiest way to go for approval.

Stephanie
curiouscat7
on 7/22/10 7:06 am
La Shelle and some others are very well versed on the teacher insurance.... Hopefully the will respond

Good luck

CC
LaShelle2
on 7/22/10 7:20 am - STOCKBRIDGE, GA
They are both pretty much the same. Macik is on both plans.   You will be fine to stick with UHC, since you are happy with their service.  Just make sure you get ther HRA or High Deductible plan.

Now, the big thing to fret about is whether wls will be dropped from our bebefits???? I pray they do not, but they've screwed us over with the furloughs and not hiring to fill vacancies, I wouldn't put it past the boogers.
nilesmama08
on 7/22/10 7:33 am - Atlanta , GA
WOW LaShelle!

I pray GA won't drop wls! Have you heard about shbp dropping wls???? I would be crushed!

Stepanie
LaShelle2
on 7/22/10 9:15 am - STOCKBRIDGE, GA