LOW CARB SUPPORT..LET'S TALK!!

NY2ATL *
on 4/26/10 1:04 am
My new OH WLS friend, Ahari, asked me to start posting my Low Carb Support Thread here (I've been posting on the Lap Band Forum for 4 months or so)
So this being my first post here, I just want to say Hi!
Patty

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Good Monday Morning LC'ers!!
I hope you all had a great weekend..
I met with some WLS ladies on Saturday evening..I was the only Lap Bander..all the ladies that attended were really nice..(no surgery wars! LOL)
The lady that organized the meet and greet is Ahari..she was so sweet and very enthusiastic about her WL journey! I know she's going to do well!
It was interesting to hear everyone tell their stories..and what made them ultimately decide to have WLS.
This is what I learned:
We may have all chosen different vehicles to take us on our journeys, but our destinations are all exactly the same.
We all want to lose weight and be healthier.
I talked with the ladies a little about low carb ( of course!) and how I know for a fact I could not have lost the weight I have so far without low carb.
That is the absolute truth..
That said, I talked a little about my lifelong addiction to sugar and high carbs and how it caused me to get to my all time high weight of 278 pounds.
Sugar caused my insatiable hunger and cravings and led to my bingeing behaviors.
I told the ladies that I could keep my calories under 1200 a day..excercise regularly, but if I allowed myself to eat sugar and high carb (low fat/fat free) foods..I would gain weight..I know this to be true because I wasted about 8 months of my life doing a low fat/fat free/low calorie diet and the result was I was fatter at the end of the 8 months. No exaggeration.
I know that sugar is more than food to me..its an addictive substance.