Duodenal Switch without stomach modification - Is this possible

QueenBee7
on 8/19/17 6:34 am
DS on 02/04/14

Not sure if I'm asking the question correctly but here it goes:

Has anyone had a revision from the (1) sleeve gastrectomy to the (2) duodenal switch WITHOUT HAVING ANY ADJUSTMENT TO THE STOMACH. Assuming that because you already had a sleeve your stomach was already made small.

If so,

(1) were you able to successfully loose weight?

(2) have you noticed the same or similar results as other DSers?

(3) were you able to reach goal weight?

Experienced DSERS - please correct me if and where I might be wrong. Although I'm technically eight years out - I'm still a newbie - because I spent so many years NONCOMPLIANT and UNCOMMITTED.

I genuinely want to educate myself so I can understand how my body is functioning and responding to my tool.

Thanks in advance to all who take the time to respond.

Valerie G.
on 8/19/17 6:54 am - Northwest Mountains, GA

Absolutely! I believe the majority of revisions from sleeve to DS are done without resleeving. Surgeons only resleeve if it was done incorrectly and is misshapen. Stretching of the sleeve done correctly happens, but n-ot to an unacceptable size. Mine is probably 4x what it started at, but that's only 8-10oz capacity, which is nothing compared to the original stomach size.

Valerie
DS 2005

There is room on this earth for all of God's creatures..
next to the mashed potatoes

QueenBee7
on 8/19/17 7:08 am
DS on 02/04/14

Thanks Valerie: I only ask this question because my DS was revised and now my common channel is only 120cm. My doctor said it will be difficult to loose weight and that the contributing factor may have to do with the sleeve portion.

He said weight loss come via the sleeve and maintenance via the switch.

Im 3 weeks out and I'm slowlllllly gaining through stalls. I'm exhausted from all the things I'm trying.

i just wish I knew what to do so that I could just do it!!!!