Is your surgeon Dr. Daryl Stewart?

M. Miller
on 11/8/11 3:18 am
I have not had suregery with Dr. Stewart yet, I am a newbie.  However I will tell you I consulted with two area surgeons, Dr. Stewart was highly recommended by about 5 people I knew through work or through my children's school (none had the DS 2 Bypasses, 2 Sleeves, 1 Lap Band), the other surgeon I had no referrals.   I consulted with two, because I though as an informed consumer it is what I should do, and partly because the other one was primarily affilitated with a Center for Bariatirc Excellence. 

Dr. Stewarts consult..over two hours.  He answered every question, patiently.  I met the nutritionist, had an eeg, the whoel nine yards. all doubts, squelched, I came out of there confident I made the rigth surgery choice, etc.  The other consult di dnot even compare.   

Since the consult I have found this forum and am even more satisfied with my choice.   He accepts federal BCBS and his staff is very used to workign with Federal BCBS.

Virgie Tschirhart
on 11/8/11 9:24 am - Midwest City, OK
RNY on 12/27/17

I appreciate you sharing with me.  It just gives me more assurance about my choice of Dr. Stewart. 

Are you a lightweight?  I am at 187 lbs.  So, I'm not sure if BCBS Federal will approve me. 

Thanks for sharing.

Best Wishes to you on your WLS journey!!! 

Virgie Tschirhart

Lap Band - 2008, Sleeve - 2009, RYN - 2017

Started Program Weight July 13, 2017 - 194.2

Before Surgery Weight December 27, 2017 - 185.0

Current Weight - February 2018 - 161.0

M. Miller
on 11/8/11 9:45 am
 I am far from a light weight.   

We talked a lot about insurance because right now I have another Federal Plan that has a lot longer pre op requirement for nutritional counselling, and he has dealt with Fed BCBS a lot, and said if you meet their requirements it is fairly straight forward to get approved.   

There Are a list of requirements  but the one that would effect you the most is the following requirement: