Starting the appeal process for insurance and I'm overwhelmed!

ChristyC43
on 9/4/11 9:46 am - Indio, CA
DS on 09/17/12
Wow!  This is just almost more than I think I can handle.  I work in the legal field, as a court reporter, and was hoping that putting together this appeal letter to Blue Shield HMO wouldn't be as scary as it is.  I've dragged my feet now for about 7 weeks since I received the denial letter and I know part of the reason for that is because I just don't know where to begin.  My friend Michelle who had her DS surgery in May was super nice and forwarded me a copy of her appeal letter, which I think is great.  However, it's so professional and technical that it goes right over my head.  I believe my letter needs to be something more on my level that I can understand, especially since I'm supposed to be the one authoring it!  LOL  Anyone have some ideas they can offer me.  I'm feeling super down right about now!

Thanks,

Christy
Ms. Cal Culator
on 9/4/11 9:54 am - Tuvalu

IMHO, the most important thing about an appeal letter--besides the author's being able to understand it--is that you appeal the grounds upon which they based their denial.  So, also imho, someone else's appeal letter will do you no good, unless the two of you were denied for the same reason.

So...why were you denied?  And just for fun, why was Michelle denied.  (Her appeal would have to have addressed that issue or they wouldn't have changed their minds.)
ChristyC43
on 9/4/11 10:09 am - Indio, CA
DS on 09/17/12
The reason they state for denying it is "lack of medical necessity" and the fact that the care needs to be managed in the Desert Oasis HealthCare network (my group).  Since my "morbid obesity" can be treated within DOHC's network and does not meet the requirements for an out of network authorization, (hence their approval of bypass) the service has been denied.