Just turned 15 and want the DS (Please Read)

Julie R.
on 9/1/11 1:42 am - Ludington, MI
Hello Samuel:

Happy Birthday!   I am a teacher, and I would give anything to have more students that are as articulate, goal-driven and inquisitive as you!   I'd hazard a guess that your mom is very proud of you.   I am very impressed with the research that you have done on obtaining the DS.    I have to agree with Diana, however, that you might want to wait a few years before actually undergoing this procedure.  It's rough being a heavy kid during the teenage years, however, and I understand your eagerness to start living a thinner life.    As others have mentioned, it doesn't mean that you can't begin preparing for the possibility of having the DS now.     Keep an eye on the simple carbs - especially in the forms of liquids.    Be aware of good sources of protein and what your needs are for your age, sex and body weight.    Start getting used to moving - even if it's taking a walk every day.   Drink your water  - you'll need to make sure you do plenty of that as a post-op too.     One DS'er, Dina McComb, is not present as much on these boards as she was, but is on the Facebook DS board a lot.   I *think* her son had the VSG at 14.   You might want to look her up and pick her brain a bit too.   I'll see if I can find her out there somewhere and send her your way!
Julie R - Ludington, Michigan
Duodenal Switch 08/09/06 - Dr. Paul Kemmeter, Grand Rapids, Michigan
HW: 282 - 5'4"
SW: 268
GW: 135
CW: 125

SirSamAlot
on 9/1/11 10:24 am - Ellenwood, GA
Thanks. I've posted on the VSG board about my situation and I'm waiting approval for the post by a moderator and can you provide me the Facebook link for the ds board if you do have. I really appreciate your post, because I was truly worried what you and other vets would say about my post.

Samuel E. 
5'10
300 to 310lbs
A teenager seeking the VSG.

Julie R.
on 9/1/11 10:31 am - Ludington, MI