Diagnosed with BeriBeri/Wernicke's Encephalopathy... Help!

(deactivated member)
on 8/26/11 7:35 am
Bean, I have no advice for you, just hugs and wishes that you make a speedy and full recovery!
KarenFlorida
on 8/26/11 7:44 am - Orlando, FL
I tried to PM this to you, but your account was blocked so that I couldn't.

I'm no expert on this stuff AT ALL, but I did a little research out of curiosity and read that glucose/carb loading can cause encephalopathy symptoms acutely in someone with a Thiamine deficiency. The common situation mentioned would be a malnourished alcoholic in the ER, being given IV glucose or a large carby meal...but bariatric surgery was also mentioned as a well-known cause of the malnutrition (not that this is new info for us). I know that this does not address your B1 levels being normal on recent labs, but have you recently eaten more carbs than normal? Just a thought as far as what might have set you off.

The article I was reading was from emedicine.com

http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/794583-overview

I'm a PA, and I have a free account to view emedicine articles. I think I remember that you are a provider of some sort also, so you should be able to see it. If you do primary care medicine, it may be stuff you already know, anyhow. I practice in a subspeialty, so some of it was long-forgotten info for me!

Also, have your symptoms improved as they have given you Thiamine? The prognosis is supposedly directly related to the amount of early improvement once Thiamine is supplemented.

Sorry this is happening to you! Will be praying for you!

Karen

Join me! weightlosssurgery.proboards.com/index.cgi

Band to DS
on 8/26/11 8:33 am, edited 2/3/12 10:57 pm
Unfortunately, I had to delete this post due to privacy concerns.

Got a lap band in 2008. Tried hard, but didn't lose much weight & developed swallowing problems. Fought my insurance company for almost a year & finally had a band to DS revision on 5/11/12. Have now lost 125 pounds. Yay!