Starting to research vitamins. Any advice?

determineddanni
on 8/2/11 12:27 pm
Ok, so I am really researching my vitamins. I am of course lurking on vitalady.com. She does not detail to much though ... when it comes to looking for vitamins in stores. I basicly am trying to educate myself enough to go into a store like Costco and be able to tell what vitamin rules to follow. I get the dosage and the amount of pills to take a day. What really throws me for a loop is:
1) timed release (what is that, do we need it?
2) how can you tell on the bottle if the pills are not gel (lets say you can't see the pills from the outside?
3) what the heck is rosehips and why are they in my vitamins lol
4) also what to look for in my B Complex pill......

I could go on but I will spare you all. I am a noob when it comes to vitamins. I know the general stuff but after surgery everything is so specific and I want to be able to do this confidently! Give me all your ideas, hints, advice and wisdom!!!
(deactivated member)
on 8/2/11 12:32 pm - Yorktown, VA
First off, you're not going to be able to find the right forms and the right doses of the ADEKs we need in a store.  Don't bother looking.  ;)

We do not want timed or extended released formulas.

I use Walmart's sublingula B complex and all by Bs look good on my labs. 

beemerbeeper
on 8/2/11 12:45 pm - AL
Calcium CITRATE
ADE and K must be in dry form in huge doses as per what VitaLady sells.
Multi can be a centrum equivalent
Timed release is a no
The bottle will say gel cap or liqui gel  It isn't what the capsule is made of it is what is IN the capsule that matters.  I just avoid capsules unless I'm sure they are dry on the inside.
Can't help you on rosehips but I bet google knows.  Google knows everything lol.
I get my B complex from VitaLady.  I only have to take it once a week now.  I get a sublinqual B12 from walmart.

~Becky

MajorMom
on 8/2/11 7:23 pm - VA