Need WLS statistics, please!

(deactivated member)
on 7/30/11 5:57 pm - San Jose, CA
http://www.obesityhelp.com/forums/amos/4430853/PRE-OPS-ONLY- Post-ops-read-about-the-DS-at-your-own-risk/

This post doesn't have actual statistics, but what are you looking for?  Scientific publications?  Graphs?  The word of a surgeon?  Percentage of comorbidities cured?  For how long?  Are you SMO - oh, I just looked at your profile - and yes you are, SSMO in fact.  You shouldn't be considering ANY other surgery than the DS.

Your parents have no more right - paying for it or not - to decide what surgery is best for you than they do to direct how an attorney conducts your defense if they are paying for it (I'm an attorney - it is VERBOTEN for the attorney to even DISCUSS the case with someone besides the client without the client's permission, and IMPERMISSIBLE to allow the person paying the bills to direct how the case is conducted).  They either give you the money freely and willingly and let YOU chose what is best for YOU - who is the one who has to live with the consequences for the rest of your life - or you find some other way to pay for it yourself.

I'm probably around your parent's age, and have adult children - some of whom are not living their lives how I want them to (OK, none of them are - but then again, I'm a task-master).  I cannot imagine withholding money for a surgery that they need because I disagree with which one they chose - when I don't know **** about any of them other than reading billboard advertising.  They are overreaching and being controlling, no matter how "well-meaning" they think they are being - and they are JUST PLAIN WRONG.