Vites and Money

(deactivated member)
on 3/25/11 6:51 am - WAKE FOREST, NC
Sorry to hear about your husband's job loss, Julie! My husband has been laid off twice (both times for 6+ months) so I understand exactly where you're at. ((HUGS))
Lori B.
on 3/25/11 4:00 am - Great Mills, MD
I'm an engineer and I have to analyze the crap out of everything.  I'm also very thrifty.  So I did a comparison of what my NUT suggested (multivite adek, calcium, iron) purchased through Celebrate or Bariatric Advantage.  I can't remember exactly the cost, but it was $50+ a month. 

I want to do better than that though!  I want to be on Vitalady's schedule.  I think the last time I saw her DS estimate is was $85 per month.  Ouch, but think of the money you are saving on food after the DS. 

Still hoping to save more, I came across Puritan's Pride.  They often have B1G1 free/B2G3 free sales.  I purchased everything I could in bulk from them.  I have 6-12 months supply on everything they had.  I was careful to make sure I was using the proper vites equivalent to the VL schedule.  I purchased my Calcium Citrate from Walgreens.com during a big sale.  Then the Dry ADE & K and Magnesium Citrate I'm getting from Vitalady herself.  I ran the numbers, and by buying somewhat in bulk and while on sale, my average monthly vitamin bill is way down.  I can't find my spreadsheet, which is probably on my work computer, but it was less than $40 a month.  So, I'm spending less per month to take the best possible care of myself than I would be following my NUT's less than comprehensive suggestions.