DS is not an "eat anything you want" surgery

Stacie S.
on 5/31/09 11:59 am - Spring Hill, FL
I don't think you need to try to slow down your weight loss.  Granted, I'm not a medical professional, but here's why:

To be on target for losing all of your excess weight, the percentages are 25% by 2 months and 50% by 6 months. According to your ticker, you want to 260 pounds total.  25% of that would be 65 pounds, so based on that, you're not losing too fast for the DS. 

Check with your surgeon before trying to put on the brakes...you might wish you hadn't.  Good luck!
Courage does not always roar.  Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, "I will try again tomorrow."

Anne S.
on 5/31/09 2:27 pm
Oh no! I didn't mean to draw you out personally at ALL! I'm sorry it's come across that way, and I take it back, 100%.

The only part of the message I was/am interested in addressing, no matter who posts it, is the mentality that the DS is an "eat anything you want" surgery.

I'm apologize, again, if I came across as being personal, or attacking you, because that is NOT what my intent is or was.

I'm pretty excited, actually, to see how well you're doing in your weight loss. 90 lbs in 3 months is GREAT!

Learning about the DS? An excellent resource is www.dsfacts.com
For scientific studies about the DS and more, "friend" me, and then click on my profile. Best of luck on your journey.

Vicki In A Clam Shell
on 5/31/09 8:53 am, edited 5/31/09 8:54 am - near Louisville, KY
thank you both for bringing this up

I took the eat anything I want, protein first mentality from the beginning

I have not dieted since I had the DS and I have lost 85 lbs

but now, with 30 lbs left to lose I am going to have to get down to business - today is day 5 of my 30 carbs a day and the cravings are gone so anything I can do from  here on out is smooth sailing.