DS REVISION

JROLFSON
on 2/12/09 3:44 am - St. George, UT
HI TO ALL:

I'M NEW TO THE DS SITE. WAS HOPING TO GET INFO FROM PAST RNY TO DS REVISIONER'S. ANYONE WHO HAS AN RNY TO DS COULD YOU PLEASE LET ME KNOW HOW YOU'RE DOING...SOME OF THE THINGS I WOULD REALLY LIKE TO LEARN IS TIME FOR HEALING, MALOPSORBTION PROBLEMS, GAS PROBLEMS, RETURN TO WORK, DOCTORS....JUST TRYING TO RESEARCH THIS, FEEL IT MIGHT BE A BETTER FIT FOR ME THAN ERNY.

THANK YOU SO MUCH

JROLFSON
Kerry J.
on 2/12/09 4:40 am - Santa Clara, UT
I got a revision from my 1980 gastric bypass to DS back in September. You can read about the details on my profile, you can also PM me and I'll give you my cell number if you want to talk, I'm just across town from you.

Best move I've made, I've lost almost 70 pounds, I eat well and am still losing and feel great!
I love my DS, it's far surperior to bypass/RNY.

Kerry
JROLFSON
on 2/12/09 7:06 am - St. George, UT
Well hi Kerry...I lost touch with you. Last time we emailed you hadn't decided upon a doctor yet and we're still debating on which route to go. I am impressed. I have just read your profile and frankly it scares me about all you went through. I know now it was all worth it, but to have to go back into surgery scares me absolutely to death.

This would be my second revision and the first revision I had was very scary, took 10 hours + although I did much better after it than the first WLS I had. I'm so happy for your success.

I'm may be contacting you, I would love to talk with you about your progress.

Thanks so much.

Janie Rolfson
Laurie LOVES her DS
on 2/12/09 11:03 am - Southern, CA
Janie,

There are plenty of RNY to DS revision patients on this board and I'm sure more will come along shortly.

My best word of advice to you ... Get the MOST EXPERIENCED surgeon you can.  Having had two prior wls, you are most likely at greater risk for surgical complications and you need a surgeon who is prepared for that.