Have a consultation booked with Dr. Sampath but uneasy about surgery

narc_elegance
on 6/3/12 6:33 pm - Canada
 I'm new to all of this so excuse me for stumbling for words and proper terms. I guess this whole journey began when I was little. I used to be extremely underweight until I had a major operation and was put on calorie suppliments to gain weight. My weight went downhill from here. I was always an active kid who loved her sugar but ran it off. It all evened until I hit puberty, started home schooling, ended up in a hospital bed for three months without being allowed to move...and so on. These sound like excuses but they're really not. I am active. It's just my motivation sucks. I'll walk but I like walking to a goal. A place. When I take take backpacking vacations, the weight comes flying off because I'm constantly moving around. But as soon as I sit down, this weight comes back. It seems like a neverending battle.
I'm not extremely overweight. I'm 190 pounds. But I'm short. I'm only 5'0. I luckily don't have any breathing issues or diabetes problems. I'm healthy but overweight with sore knees, back problems, breasts that are way too big for my frame, and my self confidence goes down the drain when I look in the mirror. More than anything, I'd love to go to the mall and try on clothing without standing in the changeroom in tears. 

I've been to numerious doctors who have said to "go on a diet" and "go to the gym". I'm already on a so-called diet. I've stuck to a low fat, low sugar 1200 calorie diet for years. I can't afford a gym membership but I do aerobics when I can during the week thanks to my Wii. I've actually managed to lose 18 pounds in the last few months. It's not enough though.