New to the site

Sandradel
on 6/8/08 5:33 pm - Chilliwack, Canada
Let me start by saying HI, I am a 40 year old woman, who is also a newly wed, I have been researching bariatric surgery for almost 10 years now, and I have come to the decision that I am going to go for it. However, my GP seems to be a bit lazy when it comes to getting any thing started in regards to getting me any type of referals. He actually told me to find a surgeon, and he would refer me, and that I may have to come up with the funding for myself to have it done in Canada. I have also seen that there are places just across to boarder that I could go, and by reviewing a few of the posts here, I notice that there are options for Out of Country coverage. What I am hoping for is some information on a Dr, who can assist me with getting the approval for going across the boarder for the surgery and having the coverage, I do not have the money to pay for it myself, and I want to have a long and healthy life with my new husband, he met me, and married me the way I am, and I adore him for that, and I want to give him the best that I can. I also want to be around to see my 15 neices and nephews grow up, I am also aware that if me and my husband want to adopt, I am going to need to lose weight, as your health is always a factor in the approval process. I have alot of reasons for wanting this, and I am hoping that someone can assist me with the search for a Dr, who can also help me with the journey that I want to take. Thank you in advance, Sandra
Sim W.
on 6/9/08 2:06 pm - Vancouver, Canada