obesity support group - burnaby

ObesityResearcher
on 4/25/08 7:04 am - Burnaby, Canada
I am an obesity researcher, and have recently moved to the Burnaby area of BC. I am considering starting a support group, but wonder if there is enough demand out there for such a thing. I have done some scouting around and see that there appears to be very little available in terms of support for the obese community in Burnaby. Any thoughts?
Sim W.
on 4/26/08 1:10 am - Vancouver, Canada
Hey Carrie, I live in East Vancouver 1 block from the Burnaby border. There is a support group that meets every 3rd Tuesday evening of the month in North Vancouver at the Lion's Gate hospital. Sometimes I go, sometimes I don't. If you want to attend next month give me a shout and we can go together. Here is the information: North Vancouver Support Group meets the third Tuesday of each month from 7:00 until 8:30 at Lions Gate Hospital in Seminar C meeting room. Contact Erin at [email protected] for information. The other one is in Langley which I don't go to as it is far and so close to the other date as well but here is the info: Langley Support Group - Lower Mainland Weight Loss Support Group First Saturday of each month, 11:00-12:30, Langley Memorial Hospital, conference room #3. Trena Bennett-Vance [email protected] I don't know if there would be enough people that would be interested in one in Burnaby but you can try. Go onto Dr. Amson's website at victoriabariatricsurgery.com and ask there as there are a lot of members. Let me know how I can help. Good luck, Sim 62 inches gone since June 26/07 RNY June 26, 2007 Seattle, WA- Dr. Hunter-Virginia Mason Hospital, HW 323 lbs; SW 313 lbs; CW 190 lbs, GW around 150 lbs
ObesityResearcher
on 4/29/08 6:27 am - Burnaby, Canada