I'm a newbie that needs some info

JoW
on 3/11/08 12:02 pm - delta, Canada
Hi Everyone, my name is JoAnna and I am new to thses boards. I have a few questions about lapband surgery and I was hoping that some you would be able to help me. Just to give you some background info I am 28yrs old, 5"5 and weight 241bls. although this is the most that I have ever weight I have been overweight for the last 5 years with my weight sitting around 215lbs. I am thinking about getting lapband surgery but have a few questions first............ 1. is the procedure covered by BC medical? extented medical plans? 2. how long of a wait is it usually from the initial consultation to the actual surgery? 3. how long until you are back at work again after the surgery? 4. can anyone reccommend a doctor in the Vancouver area? any info that you could give me would be greatly appreciated. thanks.
Connib
on 3/11/08 3:34 pm - Vernon , Canada
Hi JoAnna I started my journey intending to thave the lap band. I can tell you that MSP does not cover it under any cir****tances. Extended medical coverage I am not sure, you would have to check with the company that has your extended. I was able to get an appointment pretty quick for the lap band because they assumed I was self paying, which I was not. So needless to say I did alot of thinking and researching before changing my mind to bypass. I did have a band over 14 years ago and it was for me a very easy surgery and it was open at the time not lap. I was back to work in 10 days. I kept of most of my weight until a knee injury left me sedimentary for almost 3 years, then food became my best friend and of coarse my pouch stretched. This should not happen now with the lap band and adjustments. Good luck I am only aware of Dr. Amson in Victoria and then one Dr. in Delta
JoW
on 3/12/08 1:54 am - delta, Canada