HAIR LOSS BEFORE SURGERY

sgirl
on 7/2/05 2:01 pm - tucson, AZ
Did anyone have problems with brittle or hair loss before surgery? Did it change after surgery (improve, worsen, grow back better, etc...) Thanks for your replies.
Brandy H
on 7/3/05 2:01 am - Glendale, AZ
i haven't had surgery yet (i will in 5 days) so i can't tell you from experience as far as being post op. however, i do have a little experience with hair.(i have been a stylist for 13 years) first a couple of questions, is your hair brittle due to chemical treatments i.e. coloring, perming, highlighting, etc? and the hair that you are losing does it have a root ball on it? if your hair is brittle/dry due to chemicals you need to be using a good moisturizing shampoo and conditioner. if you are using a protein based shampoo/conditioner then that can cause the hair to be brittle also. and if the hair that you are shedding has no root ball then that means that is breaking and is "external" in other words it is breaking off due to varying factors including: too much protein in shampoos/conditioners, too hot of irons/blowdryers, chemical damage caused by perms or coloring. now, if the hair that you are losing has a root ball on it then that would mean that is loss from something "internal" meaning diet, nutrition, hormones, vitamin deficiency. and if that is the case i would recommend taking a healthy hair supplement best choice would be biotin. there are lots of hair/nail vitamins out there but make sure the main ingredient is biotin. also, there is a great product for hair loss called Nioxin they have shampoos, conditioners, and scalp treatments. Many salons will carry Nioxin if your salon doesn't ask them where they think you could get it. or ask your stylist if she/he could order it for you. i see you are from tuscon so i don't know where to tell you to go. the place that i can get it is called westcoast beauty supply but you have to have a license to get it. hope this helps! brandy
sgirl