Banner Insurance questions

oldpolly1
on 3/10/05 10:58 pm - Gold Canyon, AZ
Hi! I'm just getting started with all of this and have a few questions. I have Banner Choice Plus insurance that won't kick in until we have been on the plan for 24 months, which is May 1. I have scheduled an appt with Dr. Juarez for the 6th. I have been seeing my PCP regarding weight loss and he says that he has sent a letter of medical necessity. Is it too soon for this, will they deny me if this letter arrives before I am actually covered for the procedure? Can I have any of the other appts (psych, nutrition, etc) before May 1st, or will they not count them if the actual procedure isn't covered at that time? The insurance company itself is of little help, the people answering the phones are very young. Do they ever set you up with a case manager? That would be helpful. I am so anxious to get this done, I am going for the lap band! I may be overly optimistic, but I'm hoping for surgery in the middle of July. Any input from anyone out there who has had experience with Banner insurance will be helpful! Thanks! Bonnie
Trisha
on 3/11/05 8:03 am - Glendale, AZ