I quit my job today!!!!

Trisha
on 2/23/05 12:46 pm - Glendale, AZ
I've worked for this company for 5 1/2 years, and gave my two week notice today. 6 weeks BEFORE my operation, mind you. But I'll pay for COBRA to cover my operation - not worried about that. Basically my boss did something today that was the "straw that broke the camel's back" and instead of arguing with her about it or be miserable about it, I decided to give my notice. I love my job, but my boss is a very unstable manager, and her decisions change with the wind. What's okay one day is not okay the next. She is threatened by me for some reason - maybe it's because I have a degree and she doesn't or who knows what, but she has been less-flexible and less-trusting of me for the past 6 months and there's no rhyme or reason to it. Not sure if it's my weight or because I'm creative or because I have a degree or what. But for months she's just been weird towards me. I've talked with my family and friends about it these last few months when things have happened and they can't believe that I would be treated that way - weird situations, long story, but just things that come up. Finally, I had enough. I can work temp until I get another job. I have no worries about that. I just worry about insurance, etc. But I'm in God's hands and I trust Him. Still......I've never quit a job before without having another job, and I've been at my current job for over 5 years. On one hand I'm like what am I doing, but on the other hand, I can't take it any more. I've always been of the belief that if you no longer look forward to going to work or you dont' like your job, boss, situation, get out of it. LIfe is too short to be miserable, ya know? Still, I am kind of in shock about the whole thing. So is my boss. In fact, she is livid about it. I am a GREAT employee and I have always gone above and beyond in my job. So me leaving is quite a shock. Anyway, just 3 days ago I got my surgery date and today I quit my job. LOL Well,