Anyone going to Banner Mesa?

kathyhf7
on 7/28/07 5:06 pm - Mesa, AZ
Hi everyone! I'm new to OH, signed up last week or so. Been in the valley for 22 1/2 yrs (born in NJ, raised in MA), married same amount of time, 7 children ages 21 - 6, was SAHM for 20 years & then it became necessary for me to work full time to help support the family. It's been a good thing -- I am finding myself for the first time. Long story. At my weight I was so sure I would never find a job nor be able to 'handle' it, but I have found out I have a LOT to offer in my preferred field, and I really enjoy my job. I am happy with myself for the first time in my life. This along with health factors of morbid obesity (315 lbs, 47 BMI, pre-diabetic, bp 160/80 and climbing, hypothyroidism, & more suspected but undiagnosed so far) made me finally say enough is enough with the dieting failures. I'm truly ready for surgery to help me become on the outside how I feel on the inside. With the newly diagnosed pre-diabetes/insulin resistance, and crossing that 300 lb mark with a vengeance this year, I'm hitting the wall -- this is the beginning of a slow and miserable death, or it can instead be the beginning of a new lease on life. I'm taking the new lease and giving up the old one! I have checked out several programs in the valley, and think they are all outstanding -- we sure have wonderful doctors to choose from here!!!! -- but today I have found the surgeon that is best suited to my wants and needs, and I'll be making an appointment with him or whoever I see first in the program next week. Has anyone gone to the Banner Mesa program? In September they will be the Banner Gateway program, and Banner Mesa (the old Mesa Lutheran H) is being shut down. I will get to have my surgery in the newest state of the art facility, and the surgeons are good. I feel safe with them--I went to the Medical Board website and checked the team out, and also checked out state boards where they did their residencies and fellow