New, and in Tucson!

(deactivated member)
on 10/25/06 12:51 pm - Tucson, AZ
Hi there! I'm pretty new to these parts. I'm Nicole, 24, and I'm looking to have WLS. (Please see my profile for more info on me!). I live in central Tucson, and will be getting new insurance within the next few weeks. I'm looking for a PCP who is supportive of people looking to get WLS, and who is in Tucson. My new insurance will be Mercy Care (part of the ACCSHS group) and from what I've read, they are a very willing insurance company when the right qualifications are met. I've had 3 different PCPs in the past 3 years, all of whom have said I am "too young" for WLS, and I should just lose weight normally. Uhhh Doc? I've spent the last 14 years of my life on one long, impossible diet. I'm worse off than a lot of people. I need to do this because I know it'll be the right thing to get me back onto a healthy track. I'm not looking for it to "cure" me... just assist me in getting to the healthy, thin person I know is hiding inside me somewhere! Anyhoo, any words of wisdom or suggestions are welcome. Thanks in advance! -Nicole
Darlene X
on 10/26/06 12:54 am - Maricopa, AZ
Welcome Nicole!! Good luck with your journey! Too young my butt! LOL Im 24 too, and I had surgery March of this year. My sister in law was 20 when she had surgery. I hope everything goes smoothly for you! Darlene 338/203/170
tml
on 10/26/06 8:50 am
Hi Nicole. I too live in Tucson and hope to have WLS soon. And like you I have been on ever diet known to man. Nothing has worked. I will be getting a referral from my insurance to see a Bariatric surgeon on the 2nd of November. If you want I would be more than happy to tell you who I am seeing. Maybe that would help you out a bit. Tina
(deactivated member)
on 10/26/06 10:03 am - Tucson, AZ