I HAVE A DATE! ANYONE ELSE AMIBIVALENT????

KT300
on 8/25/06 5:56 am - Cave Creek, AZ
I finally have a date of 11/8/06, I got it on appeal and have done whatever my surgeon's office has asked, talked to many postop people, gone to support groups at the hospital, but am still nervous???? I wish I could do this on my own, I have kids and worry about the risks. I wonder what I will do when I can't eat at night or go out to dinner, how it will affect my family.......does anyone have any insight on this??? Eating really has been a major part of my life for many years. I am a regular member in a 12 step support group for overeating and I know that will help. Thanks for any input. Katie
cj29
on 8/26/06 5:17 pm - Phoenix, AZ
Katie, I'm currently pre-op as my WLS is scheduled in 2 1/2 days. First let me say, I'm not an expert and haven't gone through the surgery yet. Everyone must make up their own minds about this surgery and all the what if's, death and complications, etc... I can tell you I am struggling with these same fears myself still. Then I have to think, what would happen if I didn't do this. I'm 29 years old and my health is fading. I have several female problems and am tired 90% of the time. My quality of life is not really living. I will encourage you to continue to attend support groups, talk to your peers on this and other websites and talk to several different WLS doctors before you commit. This is a major surgery and as with everything we do, there is a risk. Only we can decide for ourselfs and I wish you tons of luck in your journey. Carrie
KT300
on 8/27/06 7:23 am - Cave Creek, AZ
Thanks so much Carrie and I'll be praying for you on your surgery day!!!!!! I guess we all have to look at the big picture, if we could have done this on our own we would have right? And the risk of being obese and having medical problems is a lot higher than the risk of the surgery!!! Take good care, Katie
Nicole W.
on 8/26/06 9:10 pm - Cave Creek, AZ