Rebounding Weight

Nita S.
on 8/25/06 2:56 am - Avondale, AZ
This is the first time that I am posting to this site. My name is Nita. I had gastric bypass in April of 2000. I never did reach gaol and am gaining back weight. To date I have gained back 45 pounds of the original 130 pounds that i lost. I can eat way too much food at one sitting, and never seem to get full. I have been contmplating asking my surgeon about a revision, but then I saw Dr Simpson on the tv yesterday and wondered if you can have a lap band put on a pouch that has streatched? When I had my original surgery the insurance did not cover it, and I had to pay for it out of pocket (ouch), but when I called the insurance this morning they said that it is now covered. Has anyone tried to have the lap band instead of a revision? Is that even possible? Nita in Avondale
diamanti1
on 8/25/06 3:27 am - Peoria, AZ
First of all i am by no means an expert....but I don't know that the mechanics of either a revision or a band is going to solve your issues. A couple things come to mind.....are you being diligent about your serving sizes when you eat? Take the appropriate servings and don't let yourself graze. Are you snacking? All that I have been taught through my surgery over the last year is that you need to modify to mind hunger and the physiological will tend to itself. I find myself letting my mind wonder to food...and being about a year out I am sure that I could over eat easily. But then I take a look at my before pictures vs. what I look like today...and I remember that when my head was hungry.....I was over 400#'s. I would encourage you to talk to a surgeon...but be prepared for the behavior modification they may want you to explore. Just my 2 cents Dave 411/205/170
Nita S.
on 9/3/06 5:02 am - Avondale, AZ