Hi, Newbie here, questions

tweet-tweet
on 7/19/06 8:17 am - Phoenix, AZ
DS on 03/17/14
Hi. I just joined. I've been lurking for a while and thought I'd introduce myself. :) I had my surgical consult scheduled for July 3, but it was rescheduled for the end of July. I think they decided that they wanted a 4 day holiday weekend. :) I also have my psych eval scheduled for the last of July. I'll be having my surgery with Dr. Fang at Banner Good Sam. Can anyone tell me what to expect at the surgeon or psych consults? I'm a little nervous. Also, does anyone go to those support meetings? How important are they? I've got 3 kids 2 and under. (I was blessed with twins). So, going to their meetings will be difficult. Should I plan on getting sitter for support group meetings on a regular basis, or just if I need some extra help? Are there any kid-friendly support groups? I'm assuming no... Anyways, HI!
vquigley
on 7/19/06 1:53 pm - Phoenix, AZ
Hi, Tweet Tweet, Welcome! I can't speak about Dr. Fang or Good Sam but I know there are are many people on this site who speak very highly of him. My surgery is scheduled for July 31 with Dr. Newhoff. I highly recommend the support groups. I have been going to support groups for several months and have both been inspired and educated by the people that attend. They are inspiring because I look at some of them and think "have you really every had a weight problem" and that's because they look so wonderful. They are educating me in what not to do, what to expect, what works, what doesn't, etc. I personally think it would be worth it to hire a babysitter at least once a month and attend. Good luck, Virginia
K B (Tucson)
on 7/19/06 1:55 pm - Tucson, AZ