Hi I'm a newbie :)

Katie L.
on 7/16/06 4:11 am - Buckeye, AZ
Hello everyone...My name is Katie & I have been a lurker for about 2 months now. I have decided to have WLS & this website is amazing!! I have already been to my PCP for a referral & I am going to the group consult on Thursday w/ Dr. Newhoff. I just wanted to introduce myself because I want to participate in the discussions & not be just a *lurker*. I look forward to meeting you all ! Katie
K B (Tucson)
on 7/16/06 5:30 am - Tucson, AZ
What surgery will you have?
vquigley
on 7/16/06 7:50 am - Phoenix, AZ
Hi, Katie, Welcome! I have only been a member of OH about 6 months and have learned many things from others on the board. I am scheduled for surgery with Dr. Newhoff on July 31 and have been impressed with his experience. Good luck! Virginia
Katie L.
on 7/16/06 9:10 am - Buckeye, AZ
I would like to have LAP done. My sister had open done by Dr. Newhoff & she said he only did open. I saw that on his profile here on OH is says he would start LAP in 6/05. Does he do LAP now ?
vquigley
on 7/16/06 12:11 pm - Phoenix, AZ
Hi, Katie, When I talked to him in April, he said he only does open RNY because he likes to be able to check out other organs while he is doing surgery--said he has found a couple of colon cancers that patients didn't know they had by being able to check things out. I myself decided that after reviewing the differences between Lap and Open, decided that open was the way that I wanted to go because I wanted to minimize all risk factors. I know that Dr. Simon, Dr. Newhoff's partner, does Lap. Good luck! Virginia
Katie L.
on 7/17/06 1:48 am - Buckeye, AZ
Thanks Virginia! Good luck with surgery !! Pretty soon you will be on the losing side & I can't wait to join you
Tiffany McGee
on 7/17/06 4:19 am - Glendale, AZ