Support and Friends

Ayaunna
on 7/2/06 11:28 am - Phoenix, AZ
Does anyone know of a pre-op or post support group in West Phoenix? I live in the Glendale area and would love to find a support group. I'm new to Phoenix, I just moved here from San Diego about 4 months ago. I'm a stay at home mom so I haven't met anyone here and I'm a little homesick and lonely. I'd love to meet people who are going to have or have had WLS. My husband isn't very supportive of the surgery, but I finally got my mom on my side (she had the surgery 4 years ago but lives in GA- she was worried about me dying).... so thats my story. The group doesn't HAVE to be on the west side but it'd be great to find one over here. Please help!
Randi D.
on 7/2/06 1:12 pm - Peoria, AZ
Hi Ayaunna, I think there is a support group that meets on the Westside. I think they meet at Estrella Medical Center. I'm not sure when, but there should be someone on this board that can give you the specifics. Welcome to Phoenix. I've been living here since 1994, and I still can't get used the heat. My sister used to live in San Diego. I used to love to go visit her. She lives in Vista now. I'm hoping to visit her in September when I can get time off from work. Take care, Randi
(deactivated member)
on 7/2/06 2:26 pm - Phoenix, AZ
Hi Ayaunna - please try to attend the monthly meetings that Scottsdale Bariatrics (Dr Balckstone) holds (the 1st Monday and 3rd Wednesday of each month) We have a great group of people - I know its probably a bit far for you, but trust me...it would be worth your drive! And think of all the new people you will meet! I really look forward to these support meetings - they help me stay on track and motivated! Hope to see you there! (By the way, the mtg tomorrow night has been cancelled due to the holiday - but we are definitely meeting the 3rd Wednesday in July). Hope to see you there! Debbie
Ayaunna
on 7/3/06 11:04 am - Phoenix, AZ