Nervous now that I am scheduled

victorious711
on 6/5/06 1:36 am - flagstaff, AZ
How stupid is this? I have been working toward having this surgery for close to 5 years now. It's been a single minded focus...."get approved...Get Approved...GET APPROVED!!!!" And now that I have been, I'm nervous as can be. Finally the thing I have wanted for so long is going to happen and I'm scared to death. Did any one else have this problem??? I nervous about the surgery because I have never had ANY surgery...ever!! I worry because the two testy procedural things I have had done (in getting approved) were awful! I had an EGD as well as a TEE, where they shove the camera down your throat to look around. The anesthetic they gave me didnt take at all, and I was alert and conscious of the whole thing and till remember every God-awful second of each one. They insisted I wouldnt remember, that, of course, I had to be conscious so I could swallow the thing but that I wouldnt remember a thing afterwards. Well the stuff they gave me didnt work and both experiences were awful. I even told the hospital for the 2nd one about the first experience and that maybe I either have a very strong tolerance for the loopy meds or they need to use a different kind or more or SOMEthing. They obviously didnt. I remember listening to the Dr cussing out the nurses and technicians because..."Our patient is in distress...we do this&&^%$$ thing *^&%$$ times a day...where is the &^%$#^." So yeah. It's not just in my head....I had a difficult time with both of these procedures. So now I am afraid that whatever they give me to knock me out, will only put me under 'so much', so that I am not able to speak or talk to them but still able to feel them slicing into me. After that, as though thats not enough to worry about, I worry about massive amounts of excess skin. Everyone keeps saying I am young and my skin will shring with enough excersise, but I keep watching all these shows on Discovery Health about people havi