OT - What would you do?

IrishIze
on 2/21/06 5:24 am - NJ
I work in an office and we all sit in little cubicles. On one side of me I have a very nice woman, very shy and retiring, she can barely bring herself to say hello. Today she is wearing the most god-awful perfume and it is making me sneeze and cough and my eyes are watering. It's also giving me a headache. I know most people will say to confront her, but I'm not really good at that, and I also don't want to hurt her feelings. Right now I'm hoping it's a one shot deal and she won't lay it on so heavy tomorrow. If she does, i don't know what I'll do ..... whatcha think? Hugs, Nancy
Mary M.
on 2/21/06 6:03 am - Neverland, CA
Nancy, If this continues, I would gently start a conversation with her by saying that your allergies have started kicking in and let her know that you are allergic to certain frangrances. Tell that you noticed that she is wearing something new and would she mind not wearing that particular perfume to work anymore. If it persists you will need to go to management, advise them of your condition, that you spoke to her and that maybe the best solution is that they move you to another cubicle. Mary
Monna W.
on 2/21/06 6:11 am - Susanville, CA
Well, Nancy, I always have an opinion and as I get older I feel freer to express them. But this situation is not healthy for you. You are right that I am going to tell you you need to confront her. But of course, with kindnes and love. I have many allergies and many perfumes bother me a lot. I try to start by complimenting the perfume, but state that it is really bothering your allergies. Suggest that maybe you could tolerate it if she used less. You have to take care of yourself. Monna
(deactivated member)
on 2/21/06 7:22 am - 'Burbs of St. Louis, MO