PROTEIN DRINKS YUCK and sometimes life stll sucks

lynn S.
on 12/14/04 8:31 pm - oxnard, CA
This is my first reading these boards and i must say I'm happy for all of you. But I have tried every protein drink possible and still they are unsatisfying to say the least. If i am going to use the small amount room i have for food i want to feel good about it. I know all the dietary reasons and when I worked as a R.N. and did post op education I instructed the same, but 5 months, of which i faithfully followed the protein drinks for 4 months, i decided to quit fighting the nauseating idea of another protein drfink and am normalizing my diet with food proteins. I go shopping 2.3 times and plan my diet to foods i like and are good for me in proteins and other nutrients. i fnd my tastes are still changing. I eat a variety of foods I never would tried before. By now most of us know more about nutrition and our bodies [eventhough we have undergone recent changes] than better our initial instructors. If you love your drinks fine but i checked with my doctor and dietician and as along as i take my vits and minerals I need [ I do have vit B12 injections because i wasn't absorbing it] they said it was fine. I was at a stall in my weight loss and 305/240/65# on 12/1 wt loss surg. date 7/1/04 today I weigh 234 and feel better. I also go through some major funk at times. Everyone has their own side effects with rapid weight loss [yes rapid,anytime you lose more than 3-5 lbs,/mo,it's rapid] Mine are, medically recent episodes of urinary incontinence, not all the times and not stress related, but do I think it's due to the excssive abd skin and weight. I also get depessed because I can.t return to work yet because of my need for knee replacment surgery my surgeon wants me to weigh under 200# [which why i had bypass in the first place] and this last week i got terminated from my job of 14 years as a Home Health R.N. Sometimes I look @ myself in the mirror as say good for you and other ti