Straws & What Can't you eat yet?

dana W.
on 9/30/04 1:37 pm - fort worth, tx
You've lost 50lbs since surgery?? that great .... naw i'm eating just abt everything even the couch.. my doc says try it and see if your stomach likes it...so i eat this and then i eat that... congrats to u. dana
jcordell
on 9/30/04 2:35 pm - TX
Hi Kristy, As for straws, I can't say. Even pre-op I never used them. I had a very uppity boss take me to lunch when I was a young general manager in training years ago, and he informed me they were "uncivilized". Silly, I know, but since then it has stuck with me and I haven't used a straw for 9 years. LOL. As for what to eat and not to eat, my surgeon's only restrictions are: corn, anything with a peel (grapes, etc.), and anything where sugar or some form of sugar product is listed in the first five ingredients. As for what I've found NOT to eat, that would include pasta, rice, and bread. Each of these swells in the pouch, and I've gotten rice and pasta both stuck in my stoma and spent the next several hours throwing up. As my surgeon says, you'll neve know till you try. I have yet to try ANYTHING with sugar, though I've gotta say, a cream cheese muffin sounds sooo good. LOL. Best of luck to you! I know you'll find what you can and can't have in time. Keep smiling and keep the faith! -Jeff RNY 7/7/4 338/168/188
Heather M.
on 9/30/04 11:51 pm - Kirtland AFB, NM