2 weeks out having good days and bad

lorivasquez
on 7/12/04 6:00 pm - North Plainfield, NJ
I have some questions maybe I can get some help with. I had my surgery on June 29th, the first week I thought I was going to die! This is my second week and I was feeling pretty good, but yesterday I started with the pain in the left side like someone drop kicked me and the heating pad isn't doing any good. It's 4 a.m. and I can't sleep because I'm so uncomfortable. I still have some nausea...How long before you start feeling good again? Are these ups and downs normal? Any suggestions from anyone?
dcox94
on 7/12/04 10:04 pm - North Wilmington, DE
Lorraine, I had my open RNY June 21st so I have had limited experience here. I thought the first week was bad too. It seems to get better each day out. I do have days where I have uncomfortable feelings and usually I just get ready and try to sleep. Once I go to sleep sometimes the pains disappear. I assume it is trapped gas because its not a pain that is unbearable. The nausea will come if I eat too fast. Sometimes I forget and start trying to shove the spoon in my mouth to fast. What I have been trying is eat a bite and count to 10. Sleeping has not been good for me. I am still on my back and cannot get to side sleeping. The incision area bothers me when I do. I guess all of this is part of the journey. I suggest you give your surgeon a call if it does not improve in time. Good luck and God Bless.
lorivasquez
on 7/13/04 12:29 am - North Plainfield, NJ
Thanks Debbie....I'm feeling ok this morning although I feel very limited with my left side...I didn't have the open RNY I had the Lapo....but still all the same. I can't imagine having it open.I was able to fall back to sleep around 5 or so...I don't want to take the pain medicine if I don't have to so I'm just trying to take the tylanol which so far seems to work.God bless and keep in touch. Lorraine PS my friends call me Lori
reyesparson
on 7/12/04 11:06 pm - INDIANAPOLIS, In