The Date Is Set (6-25)

Dawn C.
on 6/4/04 9:42 pm - Dallas, TX
This is my first time posting. I am just so thrilled. I got my approval on Thursday evening and called yesterday to set up all the good stuff. I have an EGD and Stress test on Wed (6/9) and then my pre-op and hospital admit apt. is on June 17 and the big day is 6-25. I had been really hush hush about things as it took me about 2 1/2 months to get approved (insurance run around)...and really had not planned on announcing this to the world...but I couldn't contain myself yesterday. I must have told...5 people that I hadn't planned on telling. I just can't have any negativity in my life right now...and you know of those 5 people...2 were negative. My Mom says those 2 are just concerned. I told myself last night that I need to remember that this is my journey...and not any on elses. I am 34...live in Dallas...my surgeon is John Alexander. I am 5'3" and weigh 220. My starting BMI is 39. I can't wait until the 3 weeks is up. I'm already so excited and making lists of things I need to get done in the next few weeks. I think I'll start today by taking back the $200 worth of clothes I bought at Lane Bryant on Wednesday (before I knew I was approved) because I don't need to spend money on clothes that I won't get more than a couple uses out of! YEAH...YEAH...YEAH... So is anyone else set for a date around me???
mjbwright
on 6/5/04 1:50 am - JACKSONVILLE, NC
Hey Dawn....I'm happy for ya. I am scheduled for the 22nd. I hope and pray everything works out for you. I'm still waiting on insurance to let me know what's going on. I just found out that my docs office just submitted it this Thurs. My insurance has normally been pretty good about everything. I am hoping this goes just as smoothly. I just don't want to get my hopes up too high before something happens and they give me those big fatal words. Anyway, I am keeping you in my thoughts and prayers as you venture through this journey. Take care.
Dawn C.