Literally made a milestone

Larakatya
on 4/17/05 9:36 am - Twin Cities, MN
Hi there WLS family, Today I went for a run with my buddy and we did something that I've never done in my life before. I'm in training for a 5k, which is a 3 mile run. I've "run" one before - at 400lbs. . .but really it was a walk/jog. I was very proud of how hard I had worked that time to train for it then, but needless to say training is going much better this time. Today my training buddy and I went on our run and we were able to run comfortably for 2 full miles! We were able to keep a conversation the entire time, and it felt incredible to be out there in the sunshine and able to work my body like that. I have never run that long continuously before in my entire life. At the end of 2 miles we sprinted for the last 30 feet and crossed the "finish line" (the pine tree where we started) with our arms in the air like we had just completed a marathon - which honestly. . .it felt like I did! Its days like today that make it all worth it. I wouldn't trade places with my pre-op life for a million dollars. It's worth the challenges, its worth the sacrifices, its worth everything. And its only going to keep getting better. I've got 2 more weeks to get an additional mile added into the run before the big event. I think I can do it. I'm wishing all the best, ~Lara
Rae Smiles
on 4/17/05 10:28 am - Mount Airy, MD
Lara, congrats on such a HUGE milestone!! My hat is off to you...if you see me running, call the police, because I am being chased....LOL Keep us posted on your progess...I can't wait to hear about how well you do during your race... RAE
Larakatya
on 4/17/05 11:49 am - Twin Cities, MN
I promise I'll keep you posted. Thanks for the love and for the giggle! Hugs, ~Lara
Dawn C.
on 4/17/05 11:14 am - Pittsburgh, PA