long day tomorrow!! LONG POST

Donna R
on 3/10/05 9:18 am - Paducah, KY
Hi all, tomorrow I have a long day ahead of me and I am getting ready for it now, I am a veteran so sometimes I go to the VA hospital or sometimes I go to the civilian one that is near me. Thankfully I have coverage with the VA and Hubby's insurance. well anyway, although I have lost over 100 pounds my knees were still hurting and making awful noises. so I called my VA doctor and she sent me to the VA which is 75 miles from my house. because I have neuropathy in both legs due to tumors in my spine, i wear leg braces for support...I USED to use a cane too but my balance is so much improved with the weight loss. I know most the people in the PT clinic because I spent 3 months in the VA rehab hospital about 3 years ago after spine surgery complications...when I woke up, I could not sit up on my own or anything,(I was in a wheel chair for 6 months ). these therapist did not know me at my largest but I was pretty big, about 225 or so. they remember me though because I am female and 99% of the patients they saw were men who were over 60 years old. I told everyone how I lost the weight, i usually dont but these people are in the medical field and I felt they should know, well all of them were so supportive and said how great I looked and asked how I was doing, I did not have my surgery through the VA but could have, if I had gone with the VA it could have taken a whole year but with my hubby's insurance it took around 4 months. thankfully with the VA if you are overweight they send you to a dietician every year on your annual check up so I had a few years worth of her notes. also did my sleep study the year before at the VA and the Orthopedic doctor there wrote a letter on my hehalf that the surgery would benifit me... so when I went to my surgeon i already had most the stuff he wanted me to have done. I am rambling,sorry but Its just pouring out tonight.... well the PT works out well for me, I live 20