Calories/amt of food

Jen W.
on 4/23/06 8:44 am - Minneapolis, MN
Hi All, My first time posting in this forum. I had surgery 3/6/06. I like this forum because 1) we all had surgery around the same time and 2) I get to see what other people from around the country instead of just in my program are doing. I've been lurking for about a week now and I must say that I am overwhelmed with the amount of calories that everyone who posts is able to get in on any given day. I am usually only around 300 or so. My surgeon/nut follows the "strict" version of the WLS menu. So, officially I am still on mashed foods, even though I've been trying new things not officially on that menu. I graduate to soft next week which adds a few more things at 2 months post op. First - how many cals should I be getting in? Do most of you get them from your protein shakes? I'm not technically supposed to be having protein shakes (program highly discourages it), but may need to start as I am only avergaing between 25-32 grams of protein a day and nut wants me at 47. I don't seem to eat enough most days, but I do o.k. with water. Yesterday I was finally able to eat about 2-3 ounces of rotisserie chicken (no skin) and a tablespoon of beans at a meal and today I ate most of a south beach diet wrap (about 12 grams protein and 120 cals). I haven't tried fruits other than a bit of a banana and no raw veggies yet. Guess I'm just concerned that I am not getting enough food in or is this normal??
Jen W.
on 4/23/06 8:55 am - Minneapolis, MN
Oh! I forgot to mention -- according to the nut I should not be snacking. They discourage even healthy, lo-call snacking so I'm usually eating 3 times per day....I was surprised to see so many people on here snacking.
BabyRuth2u
on 4/23/06 10:33 am - Pittsburgh, PA