Help. days post op, came home today, Coffee ground stools.

laneygail
on 4/1/06 8:49 am - New Albany, OH
I had an open roux-n-y on tuesday. It hasn't been easy and I'm finding myself crying alot. I'm a nurse and thought I did a lot of research, but I had an experience I hadn't heard about... I started having coffee ground dark stools on the 3rd day and they have continued. In my nursing school I was taught that this meant it was old blood from upper gi. Has anyone had this? I can't take pain meds because I get sick. So I'm unable to take pain medication and it really does hurt. Much better today than yesterday, etc, but still hurts. I've run a fever for 4 days and had to go home on 2 different antibiotics. When will I feel better. I know it's only 5 days but I seem so depressed. Is this normal? Please send your replies, experience, hope...
Veronica
on 4/1/06 10:02 am
Laney, I am just over 2 weeks post op and I too, am having very dark colored stools (ever since surgery). When I went for my 7day post op appt, my doctor says that it is due to the pain meds given to you while in the hospital and also the vitamins will also darken stool. So just make sure to ask your doctor when you go in for your follow-up. I also had an OPEN RNY and am feeling depressed a little. I am mourning the loss of food. It is getting better as each day passes. I am seeing a psychologist once a week to help with the depression and issues of food, and we are working intensely on behavior modification. IT HELPS, SOOO MUCH!! I did 2 yrs of WLS research and thought I was going to be able to breeze through every stage, boy was I wrong. It's sooo diffrent when your on the losing side, huh? My incision still hurts at times and is very sensitive, but I have a binder the doctor gave me to wear for 6 weeks, how about you? The binder really helps and feels good securing the incision. I know things will get better as each day passes, just have faith. Veronica Hill Post Op since 3/16/06
Kylie S